Skip to main content

Georgia Southern Staff Council recognizes employees for years of service, dedication to University

Faculty and staff gathered Thursday, March 22, at the Performing Arts Center (PAC) on Georgia Southern’s Statesboro Campus to recognize employees during the annual Staff Years of Service & Merit Awards of Excellence Ceremony.

“Today is really a very special day for me, for all of us,” said University President Jaimie Hebert, Ph.D. “I am truly honored to be here with you this morning to recognize your dedication and commitment to Georgia Southern University. You’ve all shown tremendous dedication over this past year, and I know we’re ready, and we are prepared, for what lies ahead as we shape our new University.”

More than 200 Georgia Southern employees were recognized for their years of service to the University during the ceremony. Those recognized had been employed by the University from five to 35 years at the end of the 2017 calendar year. Employees from the former Armstrong State University were recognized during a ceremony on the Armstrong Campus in December.

“It is a great pleasure today to recognize 200 employees for their years of service to the University,” said Jasper Stewart, Staff Council chair and customer relationship manager – Armstrong Campus Lead for Finance Operations IT. “Through the years of service given to Georgia Southern, we have excelled by your commitment. These milestones were not met by accident, but by your dedication to maintain and fulfill the goals of Georgia Southern University.”

Thirty-three employees were also recognized as Award of Merit nominees, out of which eight were chosen to receive an engraved medallion, $1,000 cash prize and were recognized on stage by Staff Council. The Merit Award of Excellence winners are:


  • Kristi Bryant, Office of Parking and Transportation
  • Joshua Berry, Residential Facilities – Auxiliary Services
  • Melissa Gast-Goodman, Institute for Coastal Plain Science
  • Christopher Johnston, University Advancement – Gift Planning
  • Janina Jones – College of Education
  • Samantha Rossi – Human Resources
  • Sarah Singleton – Regents Center for Learning Disorders
  • Roxanne Sullivan (not pictured) – Political Science and International Studies

Posted in General Announcements